

# Council Meeting Agenda

14 May 2018





# **SUMMONS**

### To All Members of the Council

You are hereby summoned to attend the annual meeting of the District Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 14 May 2018, at 6.00 pm

**Bob Jackson Chief Executive** 

Appletree Court, Lyndhurst, Hampshire. SO43 7PA www.newforest.gov.uk

This Agenda is also available on audio tape, in Braille, large print and digital format

# **AGENDA**

The Chairman of the Council (Cllr Mrs Ward) in the Chair.

# **Apologies**

**1. MINUTES** (Pages 1 - 6)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 16 April 2018 as a correct record.

# 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To note any declarations of interest made by members in connection with an agenda item. The nature of the interest must also be specified.

Members are asked to discuss any possible interests with Democratic Services prior to the meeting.

# 3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING CHAIRMAN, CLLR CHRISTINE WARD

The Leader of the Council will move:

That the thanks of this Council be extended to Cllr Christine Ward for the admirable way in which she has carried out the duties of Chairman during the past year.

Cllr Diane Andrews will second the motion.

The motion will be put to the meeting.

### 4. OUTGOING CHAIRMAN'S STATEMENT

The Chairman will address the Council, after which she and her consort will be presented with badges of their past offices.

# 5. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE 2018/19 MUNICIPAL YEAR

To elect the Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Beck will move:

That Cllr Melville Kendal be elected Chairman of the Council for the Municipal year 2018/19, to hold office until his successor is elected at the annual meeting of the Council in 2019.

Cllr Wise will second.

The motion will be put to the meeting. If adopted, Cllr Kendal will be declared duly elected. He will sign the declaration of acceptance of office and will be invested with the chain of office. He will then take the chair.

# 6. ADDRESS BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The newly-elected Chairman will address the Council.

# 7. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE 2018/19 MUNICIPAL YEAR

To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council.

Cllr Michael Harris will move:

That Cllr Allan Glass be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the Municipal year 2018/19, to hold office until his successor is appointed at the annual meeting of the Council in 2019.

Cllr Carpenter will second.

The motion will be put to the meeting. If adopted, Cllr Glass will be declared duly appointed. He will sign the declaration of acceptance of office and receive the badge of office. He will take his seat on the dais and address the meeting.

# 8. LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

# 9. REPORT OF THE CABINET DATED 2 MAY 2018 - ESTABLISHMENT OF ADDITIONAL OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANEL AND CHANGES TO THE PANELS' TERMS OF REFERENCE (Pages 7 - 10)

To receive the report of the Cabinet dated 2 May 2018 and to consider its recommendations.

## 10. ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS

Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the Council, at its annual meeting or as soon as practicable thereafter, to review the political representation on committees and other groups such as panels to which the principles of proportionate representation, as set out in the Act, apply. The legislation requires, amongst other things, that -

- (a) The majority of seats on each committee/panel or other body must be allocated to the majority political group;
- (b) Subject to (a) above, the number of seats allocated to each political group must bear the same proportion as the total of the membership of that group to the membership of the authority.

The seats allocated to the political groups are:

	Seats	Conservative	Liberal Democrat	Independent
Appeals Committee	20	18	1	1
Audit Committee	8	8	0	0
Employee Engagement	4	4	0	0
Panel				
General Purposes &	15	14	1	0
Licensing Committee				
Planning Committee	20	18	1	1
Community & Leisure O&S	10	10	0	0
Panel				
Corporate O&S Panel	10	10	0	0
Environment O&S Panel	10	10	0	0
Housing O&S Panel	10	10	0	0
Total	107	102	3	2

The overall allocation complies with the proportionality requirements. However, the allocation of seats to the Independent member (who is not a "Group" under the legislation) is permissible only if no member of the Council votes against.

# **RECOMMENDED:**

That the allocation of seats to the political groups/Independent member be as set out above.

# 11. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

(a) To agree the membership of the Community & Leisure and the Housing Overview & Scrutiny Panels as follows:

# **Community & Leisure Overview & Scrutiny Panel**

# Councillors: G C Beck G R Blunden D A Britton Mrs F Carpenter S Clarke I C Coombes A H G Davis A D O'Sullivan D J Russell M L White

# **Housing Overview & Scrutiny Panel**

# Councillors:

Mrs L D Cerasoli Ms K V Crisell S P Davies Mrs P Lovelace N Penman D M S Poole Miss A Sevier M A Steele Mrs C V Ward Mrs P A Wyeth

(b) To consider any other changes to the membership of Committees and Panels as may be proposed by the political groups.

# 12. ANY OTHER ITEMS WHICH THE CHAIRMAN DECIDES ARE URGENT

# Notes:

- The annual meetings of Committees and Panels will commence following the annual meeting of the Council.
- The Council group photograph will be taken following the annual meetings of Committees and Panels (weather permitting).